Gärtnerplatztheater
Munich, Germany
2009 - 2017
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Design Phase:             2-5 and 8b

Gross Floor Area:       28.636 m²

The main goal of the Gärtnerplatztheater’s restoration was to consolidate the theatre’s facilities, which were spread over several properties in the city, into one home.

For this purpose, non-historical building elements were demolished and the historical facades were reconstructed according to the original model and in close coordination with the Bavarian State Office for Monument Protection. The existing building was supplemented with a carefully inserted new structure, so that optimal functional sequences of the play’s performance are now possible.

Extensive pollutant remediation was carried out in the main historical building and the building fire protection system was updated to comply with the current fire-safety regulations. At the same time, the existing historical building was restored and complemented by sensitive and functionally necessary new equipment in coordination with the Bavarian State Office for Monument Protection.

The entire building is fully accessible.

The highlight is the New Orchestra Rehearsal Hall high above the rooftops of Munich.

As a contribution to beautification of Munich’s cityscape, the Free State of Bavaria – and thus the State Building Authority Munich 1 and our office – were awarded an Honourable Mention 2019 by the City of Munich’s City Council for the exemplary renovation of the Gärtnerplatztheater facade.

Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz
München, Deutschland
2009 - 2017
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

LPH:               2-5 und 8b

BGF:               28.636 m²

Die Instandsetzung des Gärtnerplatztheaters hatte vor allem das Ziel, die über mehrere Liegenschaften in der Stadt verteilten Einrichtungen des Theaters in einem Hause zusammenzufassen.

Dafür wurden nicht denkmalgeschützte Gebäudeteile abgebrochen, die historischen Fassaden in enger Abstimmung mit dem Landesamt für Denkmalpflege nach originalem Vorbild rückgebaut und der Bestand mit einem behutsam eingefügten Neubau ergänzt, so dass jetzt optimale Funktionsabläufe des Spielbetriebes möglich sind.

Im erhaltenen Hauptgebäude wurden umfangreiche Schadstoffsanierungen durchgeführt und der bauliche Brandschutz den gültigen Sicherheitsvorschriften angepasst. Gleichzeitig wurde der denkmalgeschützte Bestand restauriert und in Abstimmung mit dem BLfD durch einfühlsame, funktional notwendige Neuausstattungen ergänzt.

Das gesamte Gebäude ist barrierefrei erschlossen.

Highlight ist der neue Orchesterprobesaal hoch über den Dächern Münchens.

Als Beitrag zur Verschönerung des Münchener Stadtbildes wurde dem Freistaat Bayern – und somit dem Staatlichen Bauamt München 1 und unserem Atelier – für die mustergültige Renovierung der Fassade des Gärtnerplatztheaters eine Lobende Erwähnung 2019 durch den Stadtrat der Landeshauptstadt München zuerkannt.